Thanks to writer and coastal chum Jennifer C Wilson for this wonderful write up

Jennifer C. Wilson

Last night, I attended a haiku workshop run by my good friend and fellow Whitley Bay writer Elaine Cusack, through Happy Planet Creative Arts CIC. As I have repeatedly said in this blog, I love workshops, and although I’ve attended a haiku workshop before, I’ve never quite got the hang of them, and was looking forward to learning something new, and, hopefully, generating some new pieces.

WP_20160202_18_53_14_Pro[1] Our Happy Planet workshop space – lots of inspiration!

We started by reading some examples, and I particularly liked this one, by Caroline Gourlay:

Writing at my desk,

I look out across the sea…

words slip their moorings.

WP_20160202_18_53_31_Pro[1]

And then onto our own, thinking about nature, travel, seasons and the senses. I managed to get thirteen drafted in total, and found it completely addictive. I find it a very similar concept to the ‘small stones’ idea, capturing a single thought or moment…

View original post 46 more words

